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CHANGES WITHOUT REGULATORY EFFECT UNDER CALIFORNIA CODE OF 

REGULATIONS, TITLE 1, SECTION 100 
 

Explanatory Statement 
 
On July 6, 2020, the Office of Administrative Law (OAL) approved regulations entitled Employment 

Regulations Regarding Criminal History, the California Family Rights Act, and the New Parent Leave 

Act (OAL Matter Number: 2020-0526-05) submitted by the Fair Employment and Housing Council 

(Council) of the Department of Fair Employment and Housing (DFEH). These regulations became 

effective on October 1, 2020.  

 

On September 17, 2020, Governor Newsom signed SB 1383 (Jackson, Chapter 86, Statutes of 

2020), which, when effective on January 1, 2021, will expand the California Family Rights Act (CFRA) 

and eliminate the New Parent Leave Act (NPLA). SB 1383 will render outdated certain portions of the 

aforementioned rulemaking approved by OAL in July 2020. The Council, therefore, proposes 

“changes without regulatory effect” to implement SB 1383 and one existing statutory provision (Gov. 

Code section 12945.2(u)). The proposed regulation would be effective January 1, 2021, thus aligning 

the Council’s regulations with the statutory provisions they implement. 

 

Background 

 

Codified at Government Code section 12945.2, CFRA provides, inter alia, that it is unlawful for a 

covered employer “to refuse to grant a request by any employee with more than 12 months of service 

with the employer, and who has at least 1,250 hours of service with the employer during the previous 

12-month period or who meets [certain other requirements], to take up to a total of 12 workweeks in 

any 12-month period for family care and medical leave. Family care and medical leave requested 

pursuant to this subdivision shall not be deemed to have been granted unless the employer provides 

the employee, upon granting the leave request, a guarantee of employment in the same or a 

comparable position upon the termination of the leave.” Currently, CFRA applies to private employers 

with 50 or more employees within 75 miles of the employee’s workplace and public employers in 

California. CFRA is enforced by DFEH and through a private right of action. 

 

SB 1383 amends section 12945.2 in the following ways: 

• Expands the types of private employers that are covered by changing the definition of “employer” 

from “any person who directly employs 50 or more persons to perform services for a wage or salary” 

to “any person who directly employs five or more persons to perform services for a wage or salary”; 

• Eliminates the requirement that “the employer employ at least 50 employees within 75 miles of the 

worksite where that employee is employed”; 

• Expands the types of family members for whom someone can take leave to care for; 

• Expands the definition of “child” to include non-dependent adult children and the children of a 
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domestic partner; 

• Provides that leave may be taken because of a “qualifying exigency related to the covered active 

duty or call to covered active duty of an employee’s spouse, domestic partner, child, or parent in the 

Armed Forces of the United States, as specified in Section 3302.2 of the Unemployment Insurance 

Code”; 

• Eliminates the current provision at section 12945.2(q) that allows an employer who employs both 

parents to require them to share 12 weeks of job-protected leave; and 

• Eliminates the current provision at section 12945.2(r) that permits an employer to refuse to reinstate 

its highest-paid employees in certain circumstances. 

 

SB 1383 repeals Government Code section 12945.6, which is the NPLA. That is because when SB 

1383 becomes effective, the NPLA will be subsumed by CFRA’s expanded provisions. 

 

In addition, AB 1748 (Bonta, Chapter 718, Statutes of 2019) aligned state and federal family and 

medical leave laws as they relate to airline flight deck and cabin crewmembers. The bill amended 

CFRA to establish airline flight deck and cabin crewmember-specific eligibility requirements in 

conformity with the federal Family and Medical Leave Act (FMLA). See Gov. Code section 

12945.2(u). 

 

The Proposed Regulations Satisfy Code of Regulations, Title 1, Section 100 

 

The Council’s proposed regulations would update the existing regulations California Code of 

Regulations, Title 2, sections 11087-11097 to accurately reflect CFRA’s provisions, and the 

elimination of the NPLA, on January 1, 2021, the desired effective date of the proposed regulations. 

The Council proposes no substantive changes beyond what is required by SB 1383 and AB 1748. 

The Council exercised no discretion in putting forth these changes. These changes represent the 

"only legally tenable interpretation" of the statutory provisions they implement. As detailed below, 

each proposed regulatory change is dictated by SB 1383 or AB 1748. Therefore, the proposed 

regulation satisfies Code of Regulations, Title 1, Section 100. 

 
Proposed regulatory change Required by 

§§ 11087–11096 amended to eliminate all references to the New Parent Leave 
Act, NPLA, Gov. Code § 12945.6, or its provisions.* 
 
*These amendments are only included in the chart below if they are part of a 
subdivision that is being amended for an additional purpose. 

• SB 1383 eliminated the New 

Parent Leave Act as of January 1, 

2021. See Gov. Code § 

12945.6(k) (“This section shall 

remain in effect only until January 

1, 2021, and as of that date is 

repealed.”) Therefore, it is 

necessary to remove all 

references to the NPLA from the 

regulations. 

§11087(a) “Certification” means a written communication from the health care 
provider of the child, parent, grandparent, grandchild, sibling, or spouse, or 
domestic partner, or employee with a serious health condition to the employer of 
the employee requesting a family care leave to care for an aforementioned family 
member of the employee, the employee’s child, parent or spouse, or a medical 
leave for the employee’s own serious health condition.  
   

(1) For family care leave for the employee’s family member child, parent, or 
spouse, this certification need not identify the serious health 

• SB 1383 added “grandparent,” 

“grandchild,” “sibling,” and 

“domestic partner” to the 

California Family Rights Act as 

family members for whom an 

employee can take leave. See 

Gov. Code §§ 12945.2(b)(4)(B), 

(b)(7), (b)(8), (b)(10), (b)(11), 
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condition involved, but shall contain the information identified in Government 
Code section 12945.2.fiv  

   
(A) the date, if known, on which the serious health condition commenced,  

   
(B) the probable duration of the condition,  

   
(C) an estimate of the amount of time which the health care provider 
believes the employee needs to care for the family member child, parent or 
spouse, and  

   
(D) a statement that the serious health condition warrants the participation of 
the employee to provide care during a period of treatment or supervision of 
the family member. child, parent or spouse.  

   
1. “Warrants the participation of the employee,” within the meaning 
of Government Code section 12945.2, includes, but is not limited 
to, providing psychological comfort and arranging third party care 
for the family member child, parent or spouse, as well as directly 
providing, or participating in, the medical care.  

   

(b)(13) (effective January 1, 

2021). Therefore, it is necessary 

to incorporate these new family 

members into the regulations. 

§11087(c) “Child” means a biological, adopted, or foster child, a stepchild, a legal 
ward, or a child of an employee or the employee’s domestic partner, or a person 
to whom the employee stands in loco parentis to that child, who is either under 
18 years of age or an adult dependent child. An adult dependent child is an 
individual who is 18 years of age or older and who is incapable of self-care 
because of a mental or physical disability within the meaning of Government 
Code section 12926(j) and (l).  
   

(1) “In loco parentis” means in the place of a parent; instead of a parent; 
charged with a parent’s rights, duties, and responsibilities. It does not 
require a biological or legal relationship.  

 

• SB 1383 amended the definition 

of “child” in Gov. Code § 12945.2. 

Previously, the definition of “child” 

was limited to children “under the 

age of 18” or “adult dependent 

children.” See Gov. Code § 

12945.2(c)(1)(A)&(B) (effective 

until December 31, 2020). SB 

1383 eliminated the limitations in 

§ 12945.2(c)(1)(A)&(B). See Gov. 

Code § 12945.2(b)(1) (effective 

January 1, 2021). Effective 

January 1, 2021, the definition of 

“child” is “a biological, adopted, or 

foster child, a stepchild, a legal 

ward, a child of a domestic 

partner, or a person to whom the 

employee stands in loco 

parentis.” Therefore, it is 

necessary to take out references 

in the regulations to the 

requirement that a child be under 

the age of 18 or an adult 

dependent child, so that the 

regulatory definition comports 

with the statutory definition.   

§11087(d) “Covered employer” means any person or individual, including 
successors in interest of a covered employer, engaged in any business or 
enterprise in California who directly employs 20 or more persons for purposes of 
the NPLA, or 50 five or more persons for purposes of the CFRA, within any state 
of the United States, the District of Columbia or any territory or possession of the 
United States to perform services for a wage or salary. It also includes the state 
of California, counties, and any other political or civil subdivision of the state and 
cities, regardless of the number of employees. There is no requirement that 
the five 20 employees (for purposes of the NPLA) or 50 employees (for purposes 

• SB 1383 amended the definition 

of a private “employer” from “any 

person who directly employs 50 

or more persons to perform 

services for a wage or salary” to 

“any person who directly employs 

five or more persons to perform 

services for a wage or salary.” 

Compare Gov. Code § 
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of the CFRA) work at the same location or work full-time. “Employer” as used in 
these regulations means “covered employer.”  
   

(1) “Directly employs” means that the employer maintains an aggregate of at 
least five20 (NPLA) or 50 (CFRA) part or full-time employees to perform 
services for a wage or salary for any part of the day on which the unlawful 
conduct occurred or on a “regular basis” as that term is defined 
in subdivision 11008(d)(1)(A). Employees on paid or unpaid leave, including 
CFRA or NPLA leave, leave of absence, disciplinary suspension, or other 
leave, are counted.  

   

12945.2(c)(2)(A) (effective until 

December 31, 2020) with Gov. 

Code § 12945.2(b)(3) (effective 

January 1, 2021). Therefore, it is 

necessary to replace references 

to the previous definition with the 

new definition. 

§11087(e) “Domestic partner” means a member of a domestic 

partnership, as that term is defined in Family Code section 297.  
•  SB 1383 added this definition of 

“domestic partner” to Gov. Code 

§ 12945.2(b)(2) (effective January 

1, 2021). Therefore, it is 

necessary to incorporate this 

definition into the regulations. 

§11087 (e)(f) “Eligible employee” means either of the following:  
  

(1) A full- or part-time employee in California who has been employed for a 
total of at least 12 months (52 weeks) with the employer at any time prior to 
the commencement of a CFRA or NPLA leave, and who has actually worked 
(within the meaning of the California Labor Code and Industrial Welfare 
Commission Wage Orders) for the employer at least 1,250 hours during the 
12-month period immediately prior to the date the CFRA or NPLA leave is to 
commence.  

   
(1)(A) Once the employee meets these two eligibility criteria and takes a 
leave for a qualifying event, the employee does not have to requalify, in 
terms of the numbers of hours worked, in order to take additional leave for 
the same qualifying event during the employee’s 12-month leave period.  

   
(2)(B) Employment periods prior to a break in service of seven years or 
more need not be counted in determining whether the employee has been 
employed by the employer for at least 12 months, except for a break in 
service caused by a military service obligation or written agreement to the 
contrary. Nothing in this section prevents an employer from considering 
employment prior to a continuous break in service of more than seven years 
so long as the employer does so uniformly, with respect to all employees 
with similar breaks in service.  

   
(3)(C) For an employee who takes a pregnancy disability leave, and who 
then wants to take CFRA or NPLA leave for reason of the birth of the 
employee’s child immediately after the employee’s pregnancy disability 
leave, the 12-month period during which the employee must have worked 
1,250 hours is that period immediately preceding the employee’s first day of 
pregnancy disability leave, not the first day of the subsequent CFRA or 
NPLA leave for reason of the birth of the employee’s child.  

   
(4) In order to be eligible, the employee must also work for an employer who 
maintains on the payroll, as of the date the employee gives notice of the 
need for leave, for purposes of the CFRA, at least 50 part- or full-time 
employees, or for purposes of the NPLA, 20 part- or full-time employees, 
within 75 miles, measured in surface miles, using surface transportation, of 
the worksite where the employee requesting the leave is employed. A 
worksite can refer to either a single location or a group of contiguous 
locations.  

   

• Prior to SB 1383, Gov. Code § 

12945.2 exempted employers 

with 50 or fewer employees within 

75 miles of the worksite from 

coverage under the law. See 

Gov. Code § 12945.2(b) (effective 

until December 31, 2020). SB 

1383 eliminated this exemption 

and also amended the definition 

of a private “employer” from “any 

person who directly employs 50 

or more persons to perform 

services for a wage or salary,” 

Gov. Code § 12945.2(c)(2)(A) 
(effective until December 31, 

2020), to “any person who directly 

employs five or more persons to 

perform services for a wage or 

salary,” Gov. Code § 

12945.2(b)(3) (effective January 

1, 2021). Therefore, it is 

necessary to eliminate any 

mention of the 75 mile/50 

employee requirement, including 

former subdivision §11087(e)(4), 

because it no longer has any 

significance and does not impact 

any rights or responsibilities. 

• Additionally, it is necessary to 

remove former subdivision 

including former subdivision § 

11087(e)(4)(A), regarding “fixed 

worksites,” because this definition 

was only relevant because of the 

75 mile/50 employee exemption, 

which as explained above was 

eliminated by SB 1383; therefore, 

it is necessary to remove this 

subdivision because it has no 
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(2) An employee employed by an air carrier as a flight deck or cabin crew 
member who has been employed for 12 or more months with the employer, 
has worked or been paid for 60 percent of the applicable monthly guarantee 
or the equivalent annualized over the preceding 12-month period, and 
has worked or been paid for at least 504 hours during the preceding 12-
month period. For purposes of this subdivision, “applicable monthly 
guarantee” means the minimum number of hours for which the employer has 
agreed to schedule such employees for any given month, unless the 
employee is on reserve status. For those employees on reserve status, the 
“applicable monthly guarantee” is the number of hours for which the 
employer has agreed to pay employees who are on reserve status for any 
given month pursuant to a collective bargaining agreement, or employer 
policy if no collective bargaining agreement exists.  
  
(3) For purposes of determining an employee’s eligibility for CFRA leave 
under either subdivision (1) or (2), the following terms also apply:  

  
(A) For employees with no fixed worksite, the worksite is the site to which 
they are assigned as their home base, from which their work is assigned, or 
to which they report. For example, for the purpose of counting 20 (NPLA) or 
50 (CFRA) employees, if a salesperson works from home in California, but 
reports to and receives assignments from the salesperson’s corporate 
headquarters in New York, the New York headquarters, not the 
salesperson’s home, would constitute the worksite from which there must be 
20 (NPLA) or 50 (CFRA) employees within a 75-mile radius in order for the 
salesperson to be eligible under the NPLA or CFRA.  

  
(B) When an employee is jointly employed by two or more employers, the 
employee’s worksite is the primary employer’s office from which the 
employee is assigned or reports, unless the employee has physically worked 
for at least one year at a facility of a secondary employer, in which case the 
employee’s worksite is that of the secondary employer. The employee is 
also counted by the secondary employer to determine CFRA or NPLA 
eligibility for the secondary employer’s employees.   

  
(C)(A) Once the employee meets thistheir eligibility criterioncriteria and gives 
notice of the need for a leave, the employer may not deny the leave, cut 
short the leave, or deny any subsequent leave taken for the same qualifying 
event during the employee’s 12-month leave period, even if the number of 
employees within the relevant 75-mile radius falls below five employees for 
purposes of NPLA, or 50 employees for purposes of CFRA. In such cases, 
however, the employee would not be eligible for any subsequent leave 
requested for a different qualifying event.   

  
(5)(B) If an employee is not eligible for CFRA or NPLA leave at the start of a 
leave because the employee has not met the 12-month length of service 
requirement, the employee may nonetheless meet this requirement while on 
leave, because leave to which the employee is otherwise entitled counts 
toward length of service (although not for the 1,250 hour requirement). The 
employer should designate the portion of the leave in which the employee 
has met the 12-month requirement as CFRA or NPLA leave. For example, if 
an employee is maintained on the payroll for any part of a week, including 
any periods of paid or unpaid leave (sick, vacation) during which other 
benefits or compensation are provided by the employer (e.g. workers’ 
compensation, group health plan benefits, etc.), the week counts as a week 
of employment.  

 

independent significance and 

does not impact on any rights or 

responsibilities.  

Similarly, it is necessary to 

remove  former subdivision § 

11087(e)(4)(B), regarding joint 

employers, which was also tied to 

the eliminated 75 mile/50 

employee exemption, because it 

has no independent significance 

and has no impact any rights or 

responsibilities.  

• AB 1748 amended Gov. Code § 

12945.2 to add a provision on 

flight, deck, and cabin crew 

employed by air carriers: “An 

employee employed by an air 

carrier as a flight deck or cabin 

crew member meets the eligibility 

requirements specified in 

subdivision (a) if all of the 

following requirements are met:  

(A) The employee has 12 months 

or more of service with the 

employer. 

(B) The employee has worked or 

been paid for 60 percent of the 

applicable monthly guarantee, or 

the equivalent annualized over 

the preceding 12-month period. 

(C) The employee has worked or 

been paid for a minimum of 504 

hours during the preceding 12-

month period. 

(2) As used in this subdivision, the 

term “applicable monthly 

guarantee” means both of the 

following: 

(A) For employees described in this 

subdivision other than employees 

on reserve status, the minimum 

number of hours for which an 

employer has agreed to schedule 

such employees for any given 

month. 

(B) For employees described in this 

subdivision who are on reserve 

status, the number of hours for 

which an employer has agreed to 

pay such employees on reserve 

status for any given month, as 

established in the collective 

bargaining agreement or, if none 

exists, in the employer’s policies. 

(3) The department may provide, by 

regulation, a method for 
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calculating the leave described in 

subdivision (a) with respect to 

employees described in this 

subdivision. Gov. Code § 

12945.2(u). Therefore, it is 

necessary to add new subdivision 

§ 11087(f)(2) regulation to 

incorporate this new provision. 

§11087 (h)(i) “Family care leave” means either:  
 

(1) Leave of up to a total of 12 workweeks in a 12-month period for reason of 
the birth of a child of the employee or the placement of a child with an 
employee in connection with the adoption or foster care of the child by the 
employee, and a guarantee of employment, made at the time the leave is 
granted, in the same or a comparable position upon termination of the leave; 
or  

 
(2)Leave of up to a total of 12 workweeks in a 12-month period to care for an 
employee’s child, parent, or spouse, grandparent, grandchild, sibling, spouse, 
or domestic partnerof the employee (sometimes referred to as “family 
members” in these regulations) who has a serious health condition, and a 
guarantee of employment, made at the time the leave is granted, in the same 
or a comparable position upon termination of the leave; or 
 
(3) Leave of up to a total of 12 workweeks in a 12-month period because of a 
“qualifying exigency,” as that term is defined in Unemployment Code section 
3302.2, related to covered active duty or a call to covered active duty of an 
employee’s spouse, domestic partner, child, or parent in the Armed Forces of 
the United States. 

 
(j) “Family member” means an employee’s child, parent, parent-in-law, 
grandparent, grandchild, sibling, spouse, or domestic partner. 

 

• SB 1383 added “grandparent,” 

“grandchild,” “sibling,” and 

“domestic partner” to the 

California Family Rights Act as 

family members for whom an 

employee can take leave. See 

Gov. Code §§ 12945.2(b)(4)(B), 

(b)(7), (b)(8), (b)(10), (b)(11), 

(b)(13) (effective January 1, 

2021). Therefore, it is necessary 

to incorporate these family 

members into the regulations. 

• SB 1383 added § 

12945.2(b)(4)(D) (effective 

January 1, 2021) to the definition 

of “family care leave” to include 

“Leave because of a qualifying 

exigency related to the covered 

active duty or call to covered 

active duty of an employee’s 

spouse, domestic partner, child, 

or parent in the Armed Forces of 

the United States, as specified in 

Section 3302.2 of the 

Unemployment Insurance Code.” 

Therefore, it is necessary to 

incorporate this definition into the 

regulations. 

§11087(k) “Key employee” means an employee who is paid on a salary basis 

and is amongst the highest paid 10 percent of the employer’s employees who 

are employed within 75 miles of the employee’s worksite at the time of the leave 

request, as described in Government Code section 12945.2.  

 

• Prior to SB 1383, Gov. Code § 

12945.2(r) contained a “key 

employee” exception that 

exempted specific employees 

from some protections under the 

law. SB 1383 eliminated the “key 

employee” exception. Compare 

Gov. Code § 12945.2(r) (effective 

until December 31, 2020) with 

Gov. Code § 12945.2 (effective 

January 1, 2021). Therefore, it is 

necessary to remove all 

references to this exception in the 

regulations as the concept no 

longer has any significance and 

does not impact any rights or 

responsibilities. 

§11087 (l) “Grandchild” means the child of an employee’s child.  
 
 

• SB 1383 added this definition of 

“grandchild” to Gov. Code § 
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12945.2(b)(7) (effective January 

1, 2021). Therefore, it is 

necessary to incorporate this 

definition into the regulations. 

§11087 (m) “Grandparent” means a parent of the employee’s parent.  

 
 

• SB 1383 added this definition of  

“grandparent” to Gov. Code § 

12945.2(b)(8) (effective January 

1, 2021). Therefore, it is 

necessary to incorporate this 

definition into the regulations. 

 

§11087(r)(u) “Serious health condition” means an illness, injury (including, but 
not limited to, on-the-job injuries), impairment, or physical or mental condition of 
the employee or a child, parent, or spouse family member of the employee that 
involves either inpatient care or continuing treatment, including, but not limited to, 
treatment for substance abuse.  
 

• SB 1383 added “grandparent,” 

“grandchild,” “sibling,” and 

“domestic partner” to the 

California Family Rights Act as 

family members for whom an 

employee can take leave. See 

Gov. Code §§ 12945.2(b)(4)(B), 

(b)(7), (b)(8), (b)(10), (b)(11), 

(b)(13) (effective January 1, 

2021). Therefore, it is necessary 

to incorporate these new family 

members into the regulations.  

§11087(v) “Sibling” means a person related to the employee by blood, adoption, 
or by having a common legal or biological parent.   
 
 

• SB 1383 added this definition of 

“sibling” to Gov. Code § 

12945.2(b)(13) (effective January 

1, 2021). Therefore, it is 

necessary to incorporate this 

definition into the regulations. 

§ 11088. Right to CFRA or NPLA Leave: Denial of Leave; Reasonable 
Request; Permissible Limitation. 

 
(a) It is an unlawful employment practice for a covered employer to refuse to 
grant, upon reasonable request, a CFRA or NPLA leave to an eligible employee, 
unless such refusal is justified by the permissible limitation specified below in 
subdivision (c). 
  
(b) Denial of leave. 
  

(1) Burden of proof. 
  
Denial of a request for CFRA or NPLA leave is established if the Department or 
the employee shows, by a preponderance of the evidence, that the employer 
was a covered employer, the employee making the request was an eligible 
employee, the request was for a CFRA-qualifying or NPLA-qualifying purpose, 
the request was reasonable, and the employer denied the request for CFRA or 
NPLA leave. 
  

(2) Reasonable request. 
  
A request to take a CFRA or NPLA leave is reasonable if it complies with any 
applicable notice requirements, as specified in section 11091, and if it is 
accompanied, where required, by a certification, as that term is defined in section 
11087(a). 
  
(c) Limitation on Entitlement. 
 

• Prior to SB 1383, Gov. Code § 

12945.2 included an exception 

that if two parents were employed 

by the same employer they would 

only be entitled to 12 weeks of 

leave total. See Gov. Code § 

12945.2(q) (effective until 

December 31, 2020). SB 1383 

eliminated this exception. See 

Gov. Code § 12945.2 (effective 

January 1, 2021). Therefore, it is 

necessary to eliminate any 

references to this exception in the 

regulations. 
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If both parents are eligible for CFRA or NPLA leave but are employed by the 
same employer, that employer may limit leave for the birth, adoption or foster 
care placement of their child to a combined total of 12 workweeks in a 12-month 
period between the two parents. The employer may, but is not required to, grant 
simultaneous leave to both of the employees. The employer may not limit their 
entitlement to CFRA leave for any other qualifying purpose. For example, 
parents employed by the same employer each may take 12 weeks of CFRA 
leave if needed to care for a child with a serious health condition. If the parents 
are unmarried, they may have different family care leave rights under FMLA.  
 
 

§ 11089 (2) “Key Employee.” 
 
An employer may refuse to reinstate a “key employee,” as defined in section 
11087(k) of these regulations, to the employee’s same position or to a 
comparable position only if the employer establishes, by a preponderance of the 
evidence, that all of the following conditions exist: 
 
(A) The employee requesting the CFRA or NPLA leave is a salaried employee. 
As used in Government Code section 12945.2 (r), “salaried employee” means an 
employee paid on a salary basis. 
 
(B) The employee requesting the leave is among the highest paid 10 percent of 
the employer’s employees who are employed within 75 miles of the worksite at 
which that employee is employed at the time of the leave request. Whether an 
employee is “among the highest paid 10 percent,” pursuant to Government Code 
section 12945.2, is determined by comparing the year-to-date wages, within the 
meaning of the California Labor Code and Industrial Welfare Commission Wage 
Orders, of the employer’s employees within 75 miles of the worksite where the 
requesting employee is employed at the time of the leave request, divided by the 
number of weeks worked (including weeks in which paid leave was taken). 
 
(C) The refusal to reinstate the employee is necessary because the employee’s 
reinstatement will cause substantial and grievous economic injury to the 
operations of the employer. A precise test cannot be set for the level of hardship 
or injury to the employer which must be sustained. If the reinstatement of a key 
employee threatens the economic viability of the firm, that would constitute 
substantial and grievous economic injury. A lesser injury which causes 
substantial, long-term economic injury would also be sufficient. Minor 
inconveniences and costs that the employer would experience in the normal 
course of doing business would certainly not constitute substantial and grievous 
economic injury. 
 
(D) An employer who believes it may deny reinstatement to a key employee 
must inform the employee in writing at the time the employee gives notice of the 
need for CFRA or NPLA leave (or when CFRA or NPLA leave commences, if 
earlier) that the employee is a key employee. At the same time, the employer 
must also inform the employee of the potential consequences with respect to 
reinstatement and maintenance of health benefits if the employer should 
determine that reinstatement will result in substantial and grievous economic 
injury to its operations. If the employer cannot give such notice immediately 
because of the need to determine whether the employee is a key employee, it 
shall give the notice as soon as practicable after the employee notifies the 
employer of a need for leave (or the commencement of leave, if earlier). An 
employer who fails to provide notice in compliance with this provision will lose its 
right to deny restoration even if substantial and grievous economic injury will 
result from reinstatement. 
 

• Prior to SB 1383, Gov. Code § 

12945.2(r) contained a “key 

employee” exception that 

exempted specific employees 

from some protections under the 

law. SB 1383 eliminated the “key 

employee” exception. Compare 

Gov. Code § 12945.2(r) (effective 

until December 31, 2020) with 

Gov. Code § 12945.2 (effective 

January 1, 2021). Therefore, it is 

necessary to remove all 

references to this exception in the 

regulations as the concept no 

longer has any significance and 

does not impact any rights or 

responsibilities. 
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(E) As soon as an employer makes a good faith determination, based on the 
facts available, that substantial and grievous economic injury to its operations will 
result if it reinstates a key employee who has given notice of the need for CFRA 
or NPLA leave (or who is on CFRA or NPLA leave), the employer shall notify the 
employee in writing that it cannot deny CFRA or NPLA leave, but that it intends 
to deny reinstatement on completion of the leave. An employer should ordinarily 
be able to give such notice prior to the employee starting leave. The employer 
must serve the notice either in person or by certified mail. The notice must 
explain the basis for the employer’s finding that substantial and grievous 
economic injury will result, and, if leave has commenced, must provide the 
employee a reasonable time in which to return to work, taking into account the 
circumstances, such as the duration of the leave and the urgency of the need for 
the employee to return. 
 
(F) If an employee on leave does not return to work in response to the 
employer’s notification of intent to deny reinstatement, the employee continues to 
be entitled to maintenance of health benefits coverage as provided by section 
11092(c) and the employer may not recover its cost of health benefit premiums. 
A key employee’s rights under CFRA or NPLA continue unless and until the 
employee either gives notice to the employer that the employee no longer wishes 
to return to work, or the employer actually denies reinstatement at the conclusion 
of the leave. 
 
(G) After an employer notifies an employee that substantial and grievous 
economic injury will result if the employer reinstates the employee, the employee 
still is entitled to request reinstatement at the end of the leave period even if the 
employee did not return to work in response to the employer’s notice. The 
employer must then again determine whether reinstatement will result in 
substantial and grievous economic injury, based on the facts at that time. If the 
employer determines that substantial and grievous economic injury will result, 
the employer shall notify the employee in writing (in person or by certified mail) of 
the denial of reinstatement. 
§11087(m)(q) “Parent-in-law” means the parent of a spouse or domestic partner.  

§ 11090 (e) Minimum duration for CFRA leaves taken intermittently or on a 
reduced leave schedule for the serious health condition of an employee’s 
parent, child, or spouse family member or for the serious health condition of the 
employee: Where CFRA leave is taken for a serious health condition of the 
employee’s family member child, parent, or spouse or of the employee, leave 
may be taken intermittently or on a reduced work schedule when medically 
necessary, as determined by the health care provider of the person with the 
serious health condition. However, intermittent or reduced work schedule leave 
may be taken for absences where the employee or family member is 
incapacitated or unable to perform the essential functions of the position 
because of a chronic serious health condition, even if the employee does not 
receive treatment by a health care provider. An employer must limit leave 
increments to the shortest period of time that the employer’s payroll system 
uses to account for absences or use of leave provided it is not greater than one 
hour. 
 

 

• SB 1383 added “grandparent,” 

“grandchild,” “sibling,” and 

“domestic partner” to the 

California Family Rights Act as 

family members for whom an 

employee can take leave. See 

Gov. Code §§ 12945.2(b)(4)(B), 

(b)(7), (b)(8), (b)(10), (b)(11), 

(b)(13) (effective January 1, 

2021). Therefore, it is necessary 

to incorporate these new family 

members into the regulations. 

 

§ 11091(b) Medical Certification. 
  

(1) Serious Health Condition of Child, Parent, or Spousean Employee’s 
Family Member 

  
As a condition of granting a leave for the serious health condition of the 
employee’s family member child, parent or spouse, the employer may 
require certification of the serious health condition, as defined in section 

• SB 1383 added “grandparent,” 

“grandchild,” “sibling,” and 

“domestic partner” to the 

California Family Rights Act as 

family members for whom an 

employee can take leave. See 

Gov. Code §§ 12945.2(b)(4)(B), 

(b)(7), (b)(8), (b)(10), (b)(11), 
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11087(a)(1). If the certification satisfies the requirements of section 
11087(a)(1), the employer must accept it as sufficient. Upon expiration of 
the time period the health care provider originally estimated the employee 
needed to take care of the employee’s family memberchild, parent or 
spouse, the employer may require the employee to obtain recertification, but 
only if additional leave is requested. The employer may not contact a health 
care provider for any reason other than to authenticate a medical 
certification. 

 

(b)(13) (effective January 1, 

2021). Therefore, it is necessary 

to incorporate these new family 

members into the regulations. 

§ 11094(a) 
  

(1) Transferring employees from one worksite to another for the purpose of 
reducing worksites, or to keep worksites below the 20-employee or 50-
employee threshold for employee eligibility under eligibility under NPLA or 
CFRA; 

 

• Prior to SB 1383, Gov. Code § 

12945.2 exempted employers 

with 50 or fewer employees within 

75 miles of the worksite from 

coverage under the law. See 

Gov. Code § 12945.2(b) 
(effective until December 31, 

2020). SB 1383 eliminated this 

exemption and also amended the 

definition of a private “employer” 

from “any person who directly 

employs 50 or more persons to 

perform services for a wage or 

salary” to “any person who 

directly employs five or more 

persons to perform services for a 

wage or salary.” Compare Gov. 

Code § 12945.2(c)(2)(A) 

(effective until December 31, 

2020) with Gov. Code § 

12945.2(b)(3) (effective January 

1, 2021). Therefore, it is 

necessary to eliminate this 

provision as it no longer has any 

significance and does not impact 

any rights or responsibilities.   

§ 11095. Notice of CFRA and NPLA Rights and Obligations. 
  
(d) Text of Notice. 
  
The text below contains only the minimum requirements of the California Family 
Rights Act of 1993, New Parent Leave Act and of the employer’s obligation to 
provide pregnancy disability leave. Nothing in this notice requirement prohibits 
an employer from providing a leave policy that is more generous than that 
required by CFRA or NPLA and providing its own notice of its own policy. 
Covered employers may develop their own notice or they may choose to use the 
text provided below, unless it does not accurately reflect their own policy. 
  
FAMILY CARE AND MEDICAL LEAVE AND PREGNANCY DISABILITY LEAVE 
  
Under the California Family Rights Act of 1993 (CFRA), if you have more than 12 
months of service with us and have worked at least 1,250 hours in the 12-month 
period before the date you want to begin your leave, and if we employ 50five or 
more employees at your worksite or within 75 miles of your worksite, you may 
have a right to a family care or medical leave (CFRA leave). This leave may be 
up to 12 workweeks in a 12-month period for the birth, adoption, or foster care 
placement of your child or for your own serious health condition or that of your 
child, parent, parent-in-law, grandparent, sibling, spouse, or domestic partner or 

• Prior to SB 1383, Gov. Code § 

12945.2 exempted employers 

with 50 or fewer employees within 

75 miles of the worksite from 

coverage under the law. See Gov. 

Code § 12945.2(b) (effective until 

December 31, 2020). SB 1383 

eliminated this exemption and 

also amended the definition of a 

private “employer” from “any 

person who directly employs 50 

or more persons to perform 

services for a wage or salary” to 

“any person who directly employs 

five or more persons to perform 

services for a wage or salary.” 

Compare Gov. Code § 

12945.2(c)(2)(A) (effective until 

December 31, 2020) with Gov. 

Code § 12945.2(b)(3) (effective 

January 1, 2021). Therefore, it is 
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spouse. If we employ less than 50 employees at your worksite or within 75 miles 
of your worksite, but at least 20 employees at your worksite or within 75 miles of 
your worksite, you may have a right to a family care leave for the birth, adoption, 
or foster care placement of your child under the New Parent Leave Act (NPLA). 
Similar to CFRA leave, the NPLA leave may be up to 12 work weeks in a 12-
month period. While the law provides only unpaid leave, employees may choose 
or employers may require use of accrued paid leave while taking CFRA leave 
under certain circumstances and employees may choose to use accrued paid 
leave while taking NPLA leave.  
 
 

necessary to eliminate any 

reference to the 75 mile/50 

employees exception from the 

regulations as the exception no 

longer has any significance and 

does not impact any rights or 

responsibilities. Additionally, it is 

also necessary to incorporate the 

new definition of employer that 

includes employment of five or 

more employees.  

§ 11097. Certification Form. 
 
For leaves involving serious health conditions under CFRA or FMLA, the employer 
may utilize the following Certification of Health Care Provider form or its equivalent. 
Employers may also utilize any other certification form so long as the health care 
provider does not disclose the underlying diagnosis of the serious health condition 
involved without the consent of the patient. 
  

FAIR EMPLOYMENT & HOUSING COUNCIL 
  

CERTIFICATION OF HEALTH CARE PROVIDER 
  
(California Family Rights Act (CFRA) or Family and Medical Leave Act (FMLA)) 

  
IMPORTANT NOTE: The California Genetic Information Nondiscrimination Act of 
2011 (CalGINA) prohibits employers and other covered entities from requesting, 
or requiring, genetic information of an individual or family member of the individual 
except as specifically allowed by law. To comply with the Act, we are asking that 
you not provide any genetic information when responding to this request for 
medical information. “Genetic Information,” as defined by CalGINA, includes 
information about the individual’s or the individual’s family member’s genetic tests, 
information regarding the manifestation of a disease or disorder in a family 
member of the individual, and includes information from genetic services or 
participation in clinical research that includes genetic services by an individual or 
any family member of the individual. “Genetic Information” does not include 
information about an individual’s sex or age. 
  
1. Employee’s Name: ____________________________________________ 
  
2. Patient’s Name (If other than employee): _____________________ 
_____________________ 
  
Patient’s relationship to 
employee:_______________________________________________ 
  
If patient is employee’s child, is patient either under 18 or an adult dependent child: 
Is patient the employee’s family member (i.e., child, parent, parent-in-law, 
grandparent, grandchild, sibling, spouse, or domestic partner? (Note: “child” 
includes a biological, adopted, foster child, a stepchild, a legal ward, a child of the 
employee’s domestic partner, and a person to whom the employee stands in loco 
parentis.) 
 

Yes  No  
  
3. Date medical condition or need for treatment commenced [NOTE: THE 
HEALTH CARE PROVIDER IS NOT TO DISCLOSE THE UNDERLYING 
DIAGNOSIS WITHOUT THE CONSENT OF THE PATIENT]: 

• SB 1383 added “grandparent,” 

“grandchild,” “sibling,” and 

“domestic partner” to the 

California Family Rights Act as 

family members for whom an 

employee can take leave for. See 

Gov. Code §§ 12945.2(b)(4)(B), 

(b)(7), (b)(8), (b)(10), (b)(11), 

(b)(13) (effective January 1, 

2021). Therefore, it is necessary 

to incorporate the family members 

into the form. Additionally, 

employers have the discretion 

whether or not to use the form in 

section 11097 of the regulations. 

Accordingly, any changes are not 

substantive as they will not affect 

any rights or responsibilities. 



   

 

HAYA MANDELBAUM DALE BRODSKY TIM IGLESIAS GABRIEL SANDOVAL DARA L SCHUR 
CHAIRPERSON COUNCILMEMBER COUNCILMEMBER COUNCILMEMBER COUNCILMEMBER 

 

_________________________________ __________ 
  
4. Probable duration of medical condition or need for treatment: 
________________________________ 
  
5. Below is a description of what constitutes a “serious health condition” under 
both the federal Family and Medical Leave Act (FMLA) and the California Family 
Rights Act (CFRA). Does the patient’s condition qualify as a serious health 
condition? 
  

Yes  No  
  
6. If the certification is for the serious health condition of the employee, please 
answer the following: 
  
Is employee able to perform work of any kind? (If “No,” skip next question.) 
  

Yes  No  
  
Is employee unable to perform any one or more of the essential functions of 
employee’s position? (Answer after reviewing statement from employer of 
essential functions of employee’s position, or, if none provided, after discussing 
with employee.)  
 

Yes  No  
  
7. If the certification is for the care of the employee’s family member, please 
answer the following: 
  
Does (or will) the patient require assistance for basic medical, hygiene, nutritional 
needs, safety, or transportation? 
  

Yes  No  
  
After review of the employee’s signed statement (See Item 10 below), does the 
condition warrant the participation of the employee? (This participation may 
include psychological comfort and/or arranging for third-party care for the family 
member.) 
  

Yes  No  
  
8. Estimate the period of time care is needed or during which the employee’s 
presence would be beneficial: ________________________ 
  
9. Please answer the following questions only if the employee is asking for 
intermittent leave or a reduced work schedule. 
  
Intermittent Leave: Is it medically necessary for the employee to be off work on an 
intermittent basis due to the serious health condition of the employee or family 
member? 
  

Yes  No  
  
If yes, please indicate the estimated frequency of the employee’s need for 
intermittent leave due to the serious health condition, and the duration of such 
leaves (e.g. 1 episode every 3 months lasting 1-2 days): 
  
Frequency: _____ times per ______week(s) ______month(s) Duration: 
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______hours or ______day(s) per episode 
  

Yes  No  
  
Reduced Schedule Leave: Is it medically necessary for the employee to work less 
than the employee’s normal work schedule due to the serious health condition of 
the employee or family member? 
  
If yes, please indicate the part-time or reduced work schedule the employee 
needs: ______hour(s) per day; ______days per week, from __________ through 
___________ 
  

Yes  No  
  
Time Off for Medical Appointments or Treatment: Is it medically necessary for the 
employee to take time off work for doctor’s visits or medical treatment, either by 
the health care practitioner or another provider of health services? 
  
If yes, please indicate the estimated frequency of the employee’s need for leave 
for doctor’s visits or medical treatment, and the time required for each 
appointment, including any recovery period: Frequency: ______ times per 
______week(s) ______month(s) Duration: ______hours or ______day(s) per 
appointment/treatment 
  

Yes  No  
  
ITEM 10 IS TO BE COMPLETED BY THE EMPLOYEE NEEDING FAMILY 
LEAVE. ****TO BE PROVIDED TO THE HEALTH CARE PROVIDER UNDER 
SEPARATE COVER. 
  
10. When family care leave is needed to care for a seriously-ill family member, the 
employee shall state the care the employee will provide and an estimate of the 
time period during which this care will be provided, including a schedule if leave is 
to be taken intermittently or on a reduced work schedule:  
 
________________________________________________________________  
 
________________________________________________________________  
 
________________________________________________________________  
 
11. Printed name of health care provider: ______________________  
 
Signature of health care provider: ______________________ 
  
Date: ______________________  
 
12. Signature of Employee: _____________________  
 
Date: ______________________ 
  

*** 
  

--- Serious Health Condition --- 
  
“Serious health condition” means an illness, injury (including, but not limited to, on-
the-job injuries), impairment, or physical or mental condition of the employee or a 
child, parent, parent-in-law, grandparent, grandchild, sibling, or spouse, or 
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domestic partner of the employee that involves either inpatient care or continuing 
treatment, including, but not limited to, treatment for substance abuse. A serious 
health condition may involve one or more of the following: 
  
1. Hospital Care Inpatient care in a hospital, hospice, or residential medical care 
facility, including any period of incapacity or subsequent treatment in connection 
with or consequent to such inpatient care. A person is considered an “inpatient” 
when a heath care facility formally admits the person to the facility with the 
expectation that the person will remain at least overnight and occupy a bed, even 
if it later develops that such person can be discharged or transferred to another 
facility and does not actually remain overnight. 
  
2. Absence Plus Treatment 
  

(a) A period of incapacity of more than three consecutive calendar days 
(including any subsequent treatment or period of incapacity relating to the 
same condition), that also involves: 

  
(1) Treatment two or more times by a health care provider, by a nurse or 
physician’s assistant under direct supervision of a health care provider, 
or by a provider of health care services (e.g., physical therapist) under 
orders of, or on referral by, a health care provider; or 

  
(2) Treatment by a health care provider on at least one occasion which 
results in a regimen of continuing treatment under the supervision of the 
health care provider. 

  
3. Pregnancy [NOTE: An employee’s own incapacity due to pregnancy is covered 
as a serious health condition under FMLA but not under CFRA] 
  
Any period of incapacity due to pregnancy or for prenatal care. 
  
4. Chronic Conditions Requiring Treatment A chronic condition which: 
  

(1) Requires periodic visits for treatment by a health care provider, or by a 
nurse or physician’s assistant under direct supervision of a health care 
provider; 

  
(2) Continues over an extended period of time (including recurring episodes 
of a single underlying condition); and 

  
(3) May cause episodic rather than a continuing period of incapacity (e.g., 
asthma, diabetes, epilepsy, etc.). 

  
5. Permanent/Long-term Conditions Requiring Supervision A period of incapacity 
which is permanent or long-term due to a condition for which treatment may not 
be effective. The employee or family member must be under the continuing 
supervision of, but need not be receiving active treatment by, a health care 
provider. Examples include Alzheimer’s, a severe stroke, or the terminal stages of 
a disease. 
  
6. Multiple Treatments (Non-Chronic Conditions) Any period of absence to receive 
multiple treatments (including any period of recovery therefrom) by a health care 
provider or by a provider of health care services under orders of, or on referral by, 
a health care provider, either for restorative surgery after an accident or other 
injury, or for a condition that would likely result in a period of incapacity of more 
than three consecutive calendar days in the absence of medical intervention or 
treatment, such as cancer (chemotherapy, radiation, etc.), severe arthritis 
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(physical therapy), or kidney disease (dialysis). 
  
Note: Authority cited: Section 12935, Government Code. Reference: Section 
12945.2, Government Code; California Genetic Information Nondiscrimination Act, 
Stats. 2011, ch. 261; Family and Medical Leave Act of 1993, 29 U.S.C. § 2601 et 
seq.; and 29 C.F.R. § 825. 
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