

## Civil Rights Department • Commission on the State of Hate

2218 Kausen Drive, Suite 100 | Elk Grove | CA | 95758 800-884-1684 (voice) | 800-700-2320 (TTY) | California's Relay Service at 711 www.calcivilrights.ca.gov | CSH@calcivilrights.ca.gov

## **COMMISSION ON THE STATE OF HATE**

## **Meeting Notice and Agenda**

April 24, 2024, 9:00 am PT

https://us02web.zoom.us/j/89588893691 and/or 1-669-444-9171 and Meeting ID: 895 8889 3691

Commission members will participate in the meeting via teleconference. Members of the public who wish to participate in the meeting may join via the link above or at the address below. To the extent that Zoom requires members of the public to enter information as a condition of attending the meeting, members of the public may enter pseudonyms or other anonymous information.

- Welcome
  - A. Call to Order
  - B. Establishment of a Quorum
  - C. Review of the Agenda
- II. Approval of the Minutes
- III. Discussion Regarding the Commission's Annual Report
- IV. Chair and Subcommittees Updates and Discussion
  - A. Chair Russell Roybal
  - B. Subcommittee on Data and Research
  - C. Subcommittee on Policy Recommendations and Best Practices in Other Jurisdictions
  - D. Subcommittee on Recommendations for Law Enforcement
  - E. Subcommittee on Community Forums
  - F. Subcommittee on Funding
- V. Commission Member Announcements
- VI. Public Comment on Items Not on the Agenda

  The Commission may not discuss or act on any matter raised during the public comment section
  that is not included on this agenda, except whether to decide to place the matter on the agenda of
  a future meeting.
- VII. Future Agenda Items

## VIII. Adjournment of the Meeting

A room is available for members of the public to observe and participate in the teleconferenced meeting at the following address:

Civil Rights Department, Los Angeles Office 320 West 4th Street, Suite 1000, 10th Floor Los Angeles, CA 90013

Meetings of the Commission on the State of Hate (Commission) of the Civil Rights Department (CRD) are open to the public except when specifically noticed otherwise in accordance with the Open Meeting Act. Public comments will be taken on agenda items at the time the specific item is raised. If public comment is not specifically requested, members of the public should feel free to request an opportunity to comment. Total time allocated for public comment may be limited. The Commission may take action on any item listed on the agenda, unless listed as informational only. All times are approximate and subject to change. Agenda items may be taken out of order to accommodate speakers and to maintain a quorum. The meeting may be cancelled without notice. For verification of the meeting and its virtual address, call 800-884-1684 (voice) or 800-700-2320 (TTY) or access CRD's Web site at www.calcivilrights.ca.gov. To submit comments during the virtual meeting, e-mail the Commission at CSH@calcivilrights.ca.gov. Requests for further information should be directed to Monica Chavez at 800-884-1684 (voice) or 800-700-2320 (TTY).

The meeting is open to the public. If you require a disability-related accommodation or modification of policies or procedures to participate in the meeting, make a request as soon as possible or at least five business days before the meeting by contacting Mimi de Ville, CRD's ADA Coordinator by e-mail: <a href="mailto:accommodations@calcivilrights.ca.gov">accommodations@calcivilrights.ca.gov</a> or by telephone: (844) 541-2877 (voice); (800) 700-2320 (TTY) or California's Relay Service at 711. If you require language interpretation, make a request as soon as possible or at least five business days before the meeting by contacting Monica Chavez by e-mail: <a href="mailto:CSH@calcivilrights.ca.gov">CSH@calcivilrights.ca.gov</a> or by telephone: (844) 541-2877 (voice); (800) 700-2320 (TTY) or California's Relay Service at 711.

Date of notice: April 12, 2024

RUSSELL ROYBAL BAMBY SALCEDO CYNTHIA CHOI REGINA CUELLAR ANDREA BETH DAMSKY CECE FEILER BRIAN LEVIN SHIRIN SINNAR ERROLL SOUTHERS CHAIR VICE CHAIR COMMISSIONER COMMISSIONER COMMISSIONER COMMISSIONER COMMISSIONER COMMISSIONER COMMISSIONER