Family, Medical, and Pregnancy
Disability Leave for Employees in California

The California Family Rights Act (CFRA) provides eligible employees with up to 12 weeks of unpaid, job-protected leave to care for their own serious health condition or a family member with a serious health condition, or to bond with a new child. In addition, California law requires covered employers to provide employees disabled by pregnancy, childbirth, or a related medical condition with unpaid, job-protected leave (PDL) and/or accommodations. The law also requires covered employers to grant eligible employees’ request for up to 5 days of bereavement leave upon the death of certain family members.

Learn more about these rights in the resources below.